So it’s finally time to renew that medical marijuana card, right? While this can feel as equally painful as going to the DMV, it will eventually be far more rewarding. Fret not, this process is simpler than you are probably thinking. There are four steps (five if you are a minor) to complete before the state makes a determination whether to renew your card.
It will be beneficial to carefully read the instructions and statutes included in the forms. Failure to do so could result in the denial of your marijuana registry card, meaning you cannot reapply for a period of at least 6 months, due to [AS 17.37.010(i)]. If you are in need of additional information regarding the Alaska Medical Marijuana Registry or your application, please call the Registration Unit at (907) 465-5423.
Can I obtain or Renew a Medical Marijuana Card Online?
Yes, you can register for a medical marijuana card renewal online, or if you’ve never received a card before, you may file for one. This does not mean you will immediately receive your medical card after the forms are completed. The state has to approve your renewal or application and then send you a physical copy of the card. Once you have the card, all medical marijuana applications in your state apply to you.
It is important to know that the state views renewal applications submitted after a medical marijuana card has expired as a new application, and the applicant will then be required to pay the same fee that first-time applicants pay. So if you’d like to save $5, be sure to know when your card expires, and send the renewal application in prior to that date. There’s a whole McDonald’s meal on the line here.
Prior to mailing your application, please review it to be sure that all required information has been completed. If your application is not complete, it will be denied, and you will not be allowed to reapply for a period of six months.
Additionally you should consider that in states where cannabis is legal, you are not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land. Adults of the legal age (21 and older) are allowed to consume marijuana on private property out of view from the public, or in specially designated marijuana retail stores. Public consumption is strictly banned, and offenders found guilty of violating this ban are subject to a fine up to $100.
As of April of 2019, dispensaries may apply for a permit which can allow for on-site consumption in specially designated areas. Some have been granted in Alaska, but the opening of such spaces is currently delayed due to concerns with COVID-19.
The Four Things Needed for a Cannabis Card Renewal
Per (AS 17.37.010) regarding the medical uses of marijuana, the Application for Registry Identification Card for Medical Use of Marijuana and Physician Statement must be completed by the applicant. If a primary caregiver or primary alternate caregiver is specified, the Caregiver Application for Medical Use of Marijuana Applicant must also be completed. A nonrefundable fee of $25.00 (or $20.00 for a renewal) and a legible photocopy of the Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card of the patient and all caregivers must be submitted along with the application.
These forms are PDF documents requiring Adobe Acrobat Reader. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, please download the free software PRIOR to filling out this application.
1. The original completed copy of the attached application form (photocopies will not be accepted) which will include the following: the applicant’s name, mailing address, physical address, date of birth, and Alaska driver’s license number or Alaska identification card number; the name, address, and telephone number of the patient’s physician; the name and address of the patient’s primary caregiver, if one is designated at the time of application; and the applicant’s signature.
2. If the applicant is a minor, an original statement in writing (photocopies will not be accepted) by the minor’s parent or legal guardian residing in Alaska, stating that the parent or guardian: consents to serve as the minor’s primary caregiver; and gives the parent or guardian’s permission for the minor to engage in the medical use of marijuana.
3. The original, signed form of the physician’s statement (photocopies of the physician’s statement will not be accepted) stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying debilitating medical condition and the conclusion of the patient’s physician that the patient might benefit from the medical use of marijuana.
4. The application fee of $25 for the original request or $20 fee for a timely renewal (your current card has not expired).
5. A legible photocopy of the Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card of the patient and all caregivers must be submitted along with the application.
Where do I Send my Application and Money for my (Marijuana Card Renewal)?
Make the check or money order payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics, and mail it along with the application to the following address:
Health Analytics and Vital Records Marijuana Registry
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699
I would also suggest using the “Return Receipt Service” for mailing to be sure that your application and fees are received by the bureau.
You are all set to go, my friend! Send in your payment and paperwork so you can enjoy all the benefits that come with being a medical marijuana card holder. Once you’re finished, come on back to this blog and learn more about anything you want to know related to cannabis. We have made marijuana knowledge our lifestyle and are willing to answer any questions you may have.
At The Weed Blog we strive to produce the latest online news resources regarding marijuana. We also review various strains of cannabis and their edible counterparts. We are committed to helping you find valuable information about marijuana on our website. With marijuana laws constantly changing, learn from us what you can do to promote activism in your area. Otherwise, consider these other top-tier articles regarding cannabis: